“Words – so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.”
-Nathaniel Hawthorne

I must admit I’m unsure how to start this blog. I’m just going to go with it. I’ll jump right into the action.

I created this blog as a means to keep track and show my life/journey as a writer. This summer I was hoping to either be in Washington or New Hampshire amongst a handful of other students, but I ended up having to make my own writing plans. That’s fine, because I was used to it anyway.

So I enrolled in an online writing class with Gotham Writers’ Workshop which lasts for 10 weeks, starting today (assuming I get a spot since I enrolled yesterday… They’ve yet to send me an e-mail to confirm). It’s a class on article writing. It isn’t fiction (obviously) but I thought it would be good to expose myself to a different form of writing, especially considering where I think this blog may go in the future.

I was planning on creating a blog over the summer anyhow because I intended on attending either Clarion West or Odyssey for 6 weeks (located in Seattle, Washington and Manchester, New Hampshire, respectively). Clarion West rejected me, and while my story “For Zanna”  won me a spot on the waiting list for Odyssey, I never received a call offering me acceptance. So here I am, still in Pennsylvania… It at least gives me more time to save up for next year’s tuition! 🙂

I will say though that the feedback Jeanne Cavelos (the director of Odyssey) offered me on my story was very honest, helpful, and encouraging. I’ve yet to sit down to rewrite “For Zanna” though. I’ll get to it. I’m working on rewriting another story of mine currently — “Like a Fly on the Wall.” It’s my first flash fiction piece and it’s gone through a couple of versions thus far (thanks to my critique group!). I believe the version I’m writing now will be the final draft, then I’ll submit it to a market.

Well, I don’t want to make a novel out of my first blog post and bore anyone who actually sat through and read this. For those who have read this — thank you! I hope to be one of the blogs you’ll come back to and make one of your “frequently visited” blogs.

