“Short-story writing requires an exquisite sense of balance. Novelists, frankly, can get away with more. A novel can have a dull spot or two, because the reader has made a different commitment.”
-Lynn Abbey

I’ve known about the Writers of the Future contest for a few good years now, but I’ve never had anything worthwhile to submit to the contest. For those who don’t know, it is a contest geared specifically towards new writers. Eligible entrants can have no more than three published stories under their belt. The top three winners of each quarter receive money, publication, and an actual awards ceremony to attend. Some pretty good stuff, especially for the new writer!

Check it out here.

Anyways, I finally I submitted one of my stories to the contest. I should hear word back in a few months, lol.

