“Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself; but talent instantly recognizes genius.”
-Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

So, it’s that time of year again! All three 6-week workshops are accepting applications for their 2011 workshops. I’ve already sent out my applications to Odyssey & Clarion West. I submitted to both of them last year, so I knew the ropes. Clarion East, however, I didn’t apply to, so I still need to work on that application.

I have the two stories I’m going to submit with my application, but I need to actually sit down and do the application and scholarship information.  Before March 1.

The two stories I’m sending as my writing sample are the only two stories that fit within the confines of their word count. Thankfully, they only require one story to be genre, because that’s what they’re getting! lol, granted, if I had another genre story that was between 2,500-6,000 words, that would be awesome. But I don’t. So, I’ll have to make due.

I already ran the information by my manager at work and she said she’d approve of my leave of absence (after asking, “Did I hear you say six weeks during the summer?” lol). So that isn’t a worry. Just waiting on responses now. Clarion East & Clarion West both state they’ll respond by the end of March. Odyssey states they’ll respond by May 1. So, I’ll hear from two before I hear from Odyssey. If I had a choice, I think I’d want to attend Clarion West over the other two, simply due to its location — Seattle. I’ve wanted to visit Seattle for a while now.

Glad I decided to apply again! This is exciting! Anyone else apply?

