“The difference between writing a book and being on television is the difference between conceiving a child and having a baby made in a test tube.”
-Norman Mailer

So, I received a rejection e-mail from Daily Science Fiction for the submission I sent them three weeks ago. I had high hopes for this story to be published there. I sent it to other markets before sending it to DSF, because I didn’t want my only publications coming from the same market (not that I would’ve turned that down, hence I eventually submitted it there :P).

But I especially got excited when Daily Science Fiction hadn’t responded to the submission by the two-week mark. Why two weeks? Because that was when they rejected the first story I sent to them. Technically, it was twelve days. And when DSF bought A Day Like No Other, it was three weeks from the date of my submission.

I know there’s no set rule as to when you’ll get rejected or accepted, but still, there’s always that glint of hope.

The next market I’m sending the story to will be Abyss & Apex. It was between that one and BULL SPEC. I picked the former because their reading period ends at the end of the month. So why not get it in now?

