“The only thing I was fit for was to be a writer, and this notion rested solely on my suspicion that I would never be fit for real work, and that writing didn’t require any.”
-Russell Baker

TV shows can be distracting to a writer. Well, I suppose it can be distracting to anyone, but I’m a writer, so I’ll keep that statement.

Since I’m working on upping the amount of critiques I do at Critique Circle, my critique site (of which I currently hold Star Critiquer status. Yay me!) I’m getting backed up on my DVR. I wake up at 5 o’clock AM on most days I work so I can get in about an hour of reading, critiquing, writing, and I’m incorporating editing blog posts too.

I work from 7am-3pm and when I come home, I eat, spend time with the family, and critique & do other writerly things. If it’s a day where my family is out or working or whatever, I eat while watching TV (I call that Time Management). I take a shower and I’m pretty much in bed by 9. I realized that if I go to sleep at 10, getting a mere 7 hours of sleep, that eventually catches up with me and I’ll be wanting to take a nap when I get home. And naps can screw up my entire schedule.

Let’s go through my list of TV shows, shall we?

Sundays:
The Amazing Race

Mondays:
Being Human, Harry’s Law, Hawaii Five-O

Tuesdays:
The Good Wife

Thursdays:
The Mentalist, CSI, Fairly Legal

Fridays:
CSI: NY

And those are just primetime shows and shows currently in season. And, no, I don’t watch much comedy, lol.

Now, that list may not seem like that many, but if we incorporate them into all of my other responsibilities (“higher priorities” we may call them) we get a packed week where something has to give.

I enjoy all of those shows or else I wouldn’t be watching them. Can I do without them? Absolutely. But then that means I’d have to rent them on DVD to catch up (which I’ve done before) but I do get some good ideas from these shows. Or certain shows, I guess. My most recent story was sparked by a CSI: NY episode.

Obviously I don’t want to cut back on the writing aspect of my life, especially since I found a productive groove that works. But if I don’t watch my DVR, it will eventually find itself full. Maybe I just need to take additional days off of work, lol.

I would love to know how people juggle so many things.

