“Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say.”
-Barbara Kingsolver

I received an e-mail from the Odyssey Workshop today. Apparently I submitted my application in time to be considered for early admission (which, honestly, I didn’t even realize I made that deadline, lol). Unfortunately, I wasn’t accepted for early admission. Since the majority of the slots have to be reserved for the actual deadline, only a few people are granted admission this early.

Jeanne Cavelos, the director, had some very nice things to say about my writing samples though. She enjoyed reading the two stories I sent. To one she said it “…has a strong noir tone…” and on the other “…I found Stacey a strong, interesting character.  The dialogue between Ric and Stacy is quite believable. ” She concluded with, “It’s very tough to write such short pieces; you were able to do a lot with a few words.  Your commitment to improving your writing is admirable.”

I’ll find out by the end of April if I get accepted, but I just thought that this was cool to hear and to share. 🙂

