“I don’t know much about creative writing programs. But they’re not telling the truth if they don’t teach, one, that writing is hard work, and, two, that you have to give up a great deal of life, your personal life, to be a writer.”
-Doris Lessing

So, I received a sooner-than-expected reply from Abyss & Apex about my story I sent then. The e-mail said it was well-received but they decided not to publish it. But it only took them eight days to come to that decision; the average time on Duotrope for a rejection is 47 days!

…I just found that funny. 😀

But hey, it’s not tied up for as long as I thought it’d be! Now I can send it over to BULL SPEC, who doesn’t overtly say they’re open to submissions, just that they’d be closed to submissions until at least November 1, 2010. But Duotrope doesn’t say that it’s temporarily closed, and it’s months passed November. So I’m sure it’s a pretty safe bet to send the story. 🙂

