“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”
-C.S. Lewis

—–

Today I completed the outline to the new draft of my novel I’m going to be rewriting! Now comes the hard part of actually sitting down and doing the real work. I haven’t devoted time to a novel in a few years, mainly because I conditioned myself to short stories. I have to exercise discipline so I can see this rewrite to the end of the novel.

Truth be told, the first few chapters are exceptionally polished. Why? Because in the past I would start to rewrite it and then lose interest. I will have to tweak a few things within the introductory chapters though, just because I’ve decided to change a few things plot- and character-wise.

This original draft was actually a NaNoWriMo novel, so towards the end I started to witness repetitions (for the sake of word count), a lot of typos (consequence of waking up early/staying up late) and useless dialogue (i.e. “What did you just say?” “I said….”). It’s beyond 50,000 words because the story wasn’t finished, so I pressed on. But there is a lot of good stuff to work with. A good plot, which I just have to focus a little more. And strong characters. There were a few needless characters too, so I’m making them disappear.

This may be a mountain, but I’m ready to scale it!

