“We keep going back, stronger, not weaker, because we will not allow rejection to beat us down. It will only strengthen or resolve. To be successful there is no other way.”
 -Earl G. Graves

—–

In my e-mail yesterday, I received a letter from The Rose & Thorn Journal. I had sent them a story a few months back and I just got word of my rejection. Go, me! Go, me! Haha. All is well. Honestly, it’s just nice to hear back from any market about any of my stories at this point. I have five other stories at other markets (one currently submitted to the Writers of the Future contest, so I expect a long time for that). I think it’s time to query some of the magazines, though. I’ll have to double-check their estimated timeframes on their website before I do.

In Campaigner news, the first challenge is released:

Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, “The door swung open” These four words will be included in the word count.

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), use the same beginning words and end with the words: “the door swung shut.” (also included in the word count)

For those who want an even greater challenge, make your story 200 words EXACTLY!

It surprised me how many Campaigners already posted their pieces! I have until Friday to write my piece, so I’m good. I did start on it already, which felt GREAT. It’s been a while since I sat down to write something new… I love writing.

