“However great a man’s natural talent may be, the act of writing cannot be learned all at once.”
Jean-Jacques Rousseau

—–

Last week a pal of mine (who is not a writer) gave me a call and asked if I could proofread/edit the content on his website. I had read through it earlier and kept it to myself that it was lacking. It was just careless mistakes, really. You know, the kind of mistakes us writers make when we type so fast that our head gets ahead of our fingers and we leave a key word out of a sentence? Or those times when we start to write a sentence, pause, and then continue, except we repeat the last two words we wrote before we paused. So you have a have a deja vu moment in your writing. 😉

Those kinds of things, and some sentence structure stuff and clarity issues.

But in any case, I didn’t say anything when I read it because he didn’t exactly ask about what I thought about the words on the page. He wanted me to check out a video he had. But after I watched the video, he actually mentioned what was written probably wasn’t good and could use an edit.

That’s when I agreed it could use an edit, lol.

So, last week he asked if I could do it for him because he wasn’t good at the writing kind of stuff and he asked how much it would cost him. I told him I wouldn’t charge him, but he said he really wanted to pay me for it.

So this is new territory! Being paid to edit/proofread someone’s work. Very exciting! But especially now that money is on the table, I want to be sure everything is pristine. And it’s not even like I think I’m the best when it comes to grammar rules and everything. Because I am not. But I know what I know, and I guess to him it’s worth payment.

Sweet deal, I thought!

