“Words have weight, sound and appearance; it is only by considering these that you can write a sentence that is good to look at and good to listen to.”
-William Somerset Maugham

—–

Science Fiction & Fantasy Saturday is…a web ring of authors who post snippets of their work for comment. In reality, it’s a close-knit group of friends and colleagues working together to support and encourage one another and promote the science fiction and fantasy genres. I am just one author in the midst of awesome authors. To read other snippets, or learn how to join us, visit scififansat.blogspot.com!

tgpThird week and here’s another snippet from my short story, Acts, published in Villipede Publications‘ sci-fi anthology, The Glass Parachute (available to purchase at Amazon). Click the following links to read the first snippet & and the second snippet.

If you choose not to read the first couple of snippets, Tammi and Westin are equipped with communicators inside their ears, which is how Tammi is able to hear the conversation. And everyone’s social status on Nobile is determined via whatever color band they have embedded beneath their wrist.

Tammi leaned against a wall and watched as Westin pulled out a business flex-card they had printed the day before. “My consort and I would like to submit an objection to the Nobilities Act regarding one of their laws, and we would love to have your support.”

Jasen chuckled. “I’m flattered you believe I have some sort of sway to their opinion, but I’m merely a spokesman. An employed face. I relay their decisions, nothing more. My objection would be just as effective as yours.”

“But you would have a greater impact because you’re an Orange-Blood. You and I don’t intermingle, so if the government sees us together on a subject, they’re sure to notice.”

Tammi listened with eagerness as her consort wove the web of stories to her ex-lover.

I hope you enjoyed this snippet! And be sure to check out other snippets by the other authors at scififansat.blogspot.com.

