“I believe that, like most writers, my personality comes through in the fiction. So in that respect my writing can’t be like any other author’s really.
Paul Kane

—–

Daily Science Fiction has released another batch of stories this week! I must say, doing these reviews of each and every story has introduced me to a lot of writers whose work I find to be awesome! Before I started these reviews on my blog, I would read the story DSF sent out every now and again. Now that I’ve made it a point to read, review, and share the websites/blogs of each author, it’s been a blast! It’s an honor to read and review every single story that is sent to my inbox. Thanks, DSF!

April 8, 2013
Leaving Home
by Kurt Pankau (his website)
I don’t even truly understand why this story made me feel the way it did. It’s simple, succinct, and not drawn out. But I found myself so easily pulled into this story and empathizing. The story is set in a time where agents called “Eraser-Men” go about and protect the timeline. One day an agent shows up at Grace’s doorstep, who knows that someone in her past had been eliminated. She cannot remember who. But the agent asks to speak with her son, and that is when things get interesting. A good read. You can read Leaving Home here.

Jetsons RobotApril 9, 2013
Cleaning Lady
by J. Kyle Turner
The Lawsons hire a cleaning lady to clean their house, and by the early statement of, “It’s just so nice having a human touch around the house” you can conclude that the rest of the story following should be interesting. Evidently, many people use robots to clean houses, but this cleaning lady runs ads about how she does all the cleaning by hand. Well, this cleaning lady has a secret weapon.

Now, as entertaining and nicely constructed as this story was, when I was reading it, I was wondering what the purpose or the main point of the story could be. What was going to happen? Would the Lawsons find out and fire her? Or worse? I was anticipating some sort of outlandish and unexpected scuffle. It was hard to envision an ending because the plot didn’t have a conflict, and the characterization wasn’t totally there to make the cleaning lady’s internal conflict strong enough. I could have done without the last few lines which felt like the author telling the reader “and this is the moral of the story”. Whether that was the intent of the author or not (probably not) it is the way it came across to me. Cleaning Lady is still a good story though. You can check it out here.

April 10, 2013
Snake Sister
by Melissa Mead (her website)
Another Twisted Fairy Tale! And I have to say… I’m not sure what fairy tale this is rewritten from. Clearly one that has to do with a prince…? And one that has to do with snakes…? If anyone knows — and I’m SURE you do — feel free to tell me which fairy tale it’s derived from. With that said, Melissa Mead’s work is great. I can’t rave about this one simply because I don’t know what story is its foundation, but as a story on its own it’s written well and it’s humorous. You can read Snake Sister here.

April 11, 2013
Daughter of Mettle
by Aaron Damommio (his blog)
This is about a girl who has a dad who has superpowers. But with everything he does to save the world, he has broken promises to her time and time again. So, after her seventeenth birthday, she decides to take away his powers. It’s an interesting story. It grew on me, although I do think the second person voice in this piece wasn’t as up to par as it could’ve been. You can read Daughter of Mettle here.

HeartbeatApril 12, 2013
Heart of Joy
by Kate O’Connor (her blog)
It started a little rough, solely due to the fact that I had three brand new names I had to reread to see how to pronounce — Feon, Luscinia, and Carinae (which turned into Carina the next time mentioned). Once I hurdled those names (okay, maybe stumbled is the proper word) the story enraptured me. Sentences such as:

He lingered a minute, body swaying between feelings and words.

&

The swish of her clothing and the thump of her bare feet on the hard floor blended into a music of their own.

helped set the tempo to the story in a powerful way. The story focuses on a gentleman by the name of Feon who is the High Chancellor, and Luscinia is his lover who, politically, was not a smart choice to make. But Luscinia dances. Beautifully. But a gift to Feon from an ambassador threatens their relationship. The story is a retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Nightingale.” I actually have never read that, so I can’t comment on that, but I will say that the emotion put forth in Heart of Joy is just as beautiful as the dances Kate O’Connor describes. I could feel the emotion Luscinia’s performances had but I could also feel the mechanical movements of the machine. It is amazing what Kate O’Connor did with this story. Truly a gem in my book. You can read Heart of Joy here.

__________

To sign up for Daily Science Fiction’s mailing list, visit DailyScienceFiction.com and subscribe for free! Every weekday you’ll get a brand new story in your inbox (a week before it goes up online).

