Book Review, Publication, The Writing Life, Villipede Publications

New Publication // The Glass Parachute Reviewed

“You can’t edit a blank page.”
Nora Roberts

—–

Well, it’s been a while since I’d gotten a short story acceptance letter in my e-mail (the last ones being when “For Zanna” and “Acts” were accepted into The Glass Parachute anthology, and that was early 2012) but I received one today! It was quite a surprise, because I’m expecting to receive e-mails from new freelance clients and I get an e-mail of a story acceptance instead… Works for me!

The market is Red Fez. It’s not a paying market, but it’s a publication and I’m stoked. The story that was accepted is “What Are Friends For,” which is a story I wrote a while ago (at least 2 years ago)… I reread it today and there are several things I would like to alter and/or add, lol, but I think it’s because I’ve grown since I wrote it (and last read it too, apparently, or else I would’ve changed some things 😛 ). But I don’t think any writer can write something, have time pass, and then see perfection in their previous work. At some point you have to stop editing anyway in order to get it out into the world.

But this story was a fun story, which is basically everything I say I don’t write, lol. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s fluff. There is no deep character development, no real point to the story. It really serves absolutely no purpose, but I drew from my life to write it, and it amused me. I had fun writing it. Even rereading it today I found myself still chuckling at the words on the page. And I don’t write humor, so hopefully I’m not the only one who’s chuckling… lol.

With that said, the story is already published online! It is Red Fez’s 56th issue. A direct link to the story is here.

And in The Glass Parachute news, Fanboy Comics has reviewed the anthology! It is The Glass Parachute‘s first review, so I know we are all excited about it! Even more excited that it is a good review! You can check out the review here. And if you’ve purchased the anthology, feel free to write your own review on Amazon.com.

5 thoughts on “New Publication // The Glass Parachute Reviewed”

  1. Dear S.C.,

    Congrats, I guess, if you’re happy about not getting compensated for giving away the rights to something you wrote. I would love to hear your rationale for using non-paying markets in the first place. You have a great blog–why not just publish your stories on it? You’d make just as much money (ahem), retain all your rights, and probably get about as much exposure.

    So far, I have sent my writing only to pro-paying or near pro-paying markets. I’ve had only 5 sales in two years, but at least I’m building my career and reputation. I have racked up hundreds of rejections, but I have also been noticed by the pro-markets (with comments such as “send more,” and “made our shortlist,” and “great story but just not right for us”). THAT is what I call exposure.

    Again, I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on this subject, as they obviously differ from mine. What am I missing?

    Best regards,

    Steve

    1. Hey Steve!

      Thanks for the compliment regarding the blog! I appreciate that!

      As for my take on authors being compensated for their work, I do think that they should (I like writersweekly.com for this reason; Angela has removed markets because they don’t pay authors). But I also think it should be on a case-by-case basis, depending on the story, and the author will decide what he or she will do. “What Are Friends For” I have only ever submitted to paying markets, dating back to March of 2011. Red Fez was the first non-paying market I sent it to because paying markets kept passing it up.

      And it’s not to say that I gave up or threw in the towel because no paying market accepted it; I have loads of patience. I detailed the journeys of one of my stories on my blog, showing the history and length of time before it was accepted:

      The Journey of “For Zanna”

      But this story, “What Are Friends For,” I felt okay submitting with no payment. If I were to publish it here on my blog (which is something I have thought about doing with writing prompts and things of that nature), I would only reach the people who know about my blog, whereas having it accepted and published on another site, more people will know about me.

      The rejection comments you’ve mentioned have been said of my work as well. So, I do send my work to the pro-paying and semi-pro paying markets, but it comes a time if I feel that story is coming to its end, I’ll make an adjustment.

      But as I said, it depends on the story. “Moody & Saundra” is another story I shopped around for years and no one took it. But that story I chose to self-publish digitally. So far I’ve made a few bucks off of it, but I couldn’t see me publishing “What Are Friends For” digitally with it being such a short story.

      Out of the other stories I have completed, there is only one right now that I would allow to follow in the same footsteps of “What Are Friends For,” in terms of no payment. But it hasn’t gotten to that point. Other stories I would publish myself or even hold off until I published a short story collection.

      Thanks for the comment!

      1. Dear S.C.,

        Your reason makes sense only if the non-paying market is a quality pub. Remember, you don’t want your name and writing to be associated with poor quality. I don’t know much about Red Fez, but if you believe it is a quality pub in which you are proud to be published, then good for you 🙂 BTW, I’d be happy to not pay you to publish your stories on Songs of Eretz–just let me know 😉

        Cheers,

        Steve

      2. That too is true, sir! I have purposely skipped over several markets because it didn’t have what I believed to be a good standard.

        And I will keep your offer in mind. 😉

        lol, thanks!

Leave a comment